No surgery on Price’s knee; Eller symptom free


Lars Eller on "Garbage Bag Day"

Carey Price said he knew he was in trouble.

Price suffered a second-degree MCL sprain when he went down on Ottawa’s late game-tieing in game four against the Senators. He tried to skate it off and make the save at the end of regulation, but he knew he was in trouble.

I was just trying to get my butt on the ice and get my knees together, but your knees aren’t supposed to bend like that” said Price, as the Canadiens gathered at Brossard for exit medicals and individual chats with the coaching staff. “I felt a sharp pain, and the pop. It’s a tough way to go out.”

Meanwhile, Lars Eller, said he was close to making a comeback, after being on the receiving end of an illegal check dished out by Eric Gryba that knocked him out of the Ottawa series.

“I wouldn’t put a date on it.  I was getting close.”

Eller said although he has done some tests that point to the fact that he hasn’t fully recovered, he said he is currently symptom free.

“We’ll take it one day at a time and evaluate the situation going forward,” said Eller. “No reason to believe that I wouldn’t recover fully from this.”

Eller said Gryba did not reach out to him, following the incident.

“I have not heard from Gryba.  I don’t know the guy. I didn’t expect anything.  I haven’t really thought about it either.”

While players like Carey Price and Lars Eller look ahead to next season with anticipation, others like Jeff Haplern do so with uncertainty.

Halpern is among a handful of Habs, including Colby Armstrong, Michael Ryder,and Davis Drewiske, who are set to become unrestricted free agents

“I had a real good discussion with management,” said Halpern.  “They need their time.”

Although Halpern acknowledged he’d love to return to Montreal, he was somewhat philopshical about where he is at this stage of his career.

“I’m definitely on the back nine if not staring down that last fairway,” said Halpern. “Being a free agent used to be a good thing.  It’s kind of nice to have that contract as well.  I’ll see how the cards fall.

Three members of the Canadiens are on their way to the World Championsips: Tomas Plekanec for the Czech Republic, Alex Galchenyuk for Team USA, and Rafael Diaz, who will suit up for Switzerland.

About ahefter

I have covered hockey extensively during my 30-year broadcasting career. From the Miracle on Ice at Lake Placid to the Edmonton Oiler dynasty years, I've shared my views on hockey with listeners in Montreal, Toronto and Vancouver. These days you can catch me high above centre ice in the press box at the Bell Centre, covering the Montreal Canadiens for CJAD Radio, and on-line at CJAD.COM. You can "catch me in action" on Youtube at the following URL: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1n5BdB9ngYw
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

