WHAT NEXT FOR HABS?


Now that the giddiness of the all-star break is behind us, it’s time for the Montreal Canadiens to get back down to business.

It starts with a 2 p.m. skate at Brossard on Monday, followed by the arrival of the Buffalo Sabres for a game at the Bell Centre Tuesday night.

The Canadiens go into the post all-star break in 11th place, eight points out of a playoff spot.  If that isn’t scary enough, the Habs are only two points removed from the Eastern Conference cellar.

Now what?  Will Carey Price, the all-star, play like an all-star down the stretch and drag this team, kicking and screaming into the playoffs?

Will Erik Cole, David Desharnais and Max Pacioretty continue to lead this team, up front, as they have for most of the season?  More importantly, will the Canadiens get some consistant production from the likes of Andrei Kostitsyn, Lars Eller and Tomas Plekanec?

Will Scott Gomez play the way he did down the stretch during his first season as a Hab?  Or does the Scott Gomez saga start and end with his salary?

Will PK Subban settle down and play the kind of hockey he played the second half of last season, when he stepped in and stepped up at a time when he was needed the most?

Will we see Andrei Markov in a Candiens’ uniform at all this season?

Will Canadiens’ management continue to apologize for their decision to hire Randy Cunneyworth as their “interim” head coach?  Or will Cunneyworth shove the “interim” tag down their throats by proving that he has the goods to be a “full-time” head coach in the National Hockey League.

For the Montreal Canadiens, so many questions, so little time.  Thirty-three games, in fact, until the final horn goes on the 2011-12 NHL regular season.

About ahefter

I have covered hockey extensively during my 30-year sports broadcasting career. From the Miracle on Ice at Lake Placid to the Edmonton Oiler dynasty years, I've shared my views on hockey with listeners in Montreal, Toronto and Vancouver. You can "catch me in action" on Youtube at the following URL: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1n5BdB9ngYw My radio stops include TSN 690 Montreal, CJAD Montreal, CKNW Vancouver, and CKEY Toronto. I also ran the Canadian Press sports desk (radio). My travels as a network reporter have taken me to four Olympics, most recently Vancouver 2010. I'm currently an Applied Assistant Professor within the School of Communication at the University of Hartford.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to WHAT NEXT FOR HABS?

  1. Dave MacDonald says:

    For the last 40 years or so I have passionately cheered on the Canadiens. However, I now feel conflicted. I want them to win yet I want them to get a top draft pick. I would like to see them identify their core players and trade away many of their players for the future.

    I really like Plex but I would like to see him traded. I would be cheering for him to win the Cup though. However, I think the Habs could get a high return for him. Anyone who is not going to help the Canadiens make a run for the Cup 3 years from now should be traded if they can get a reasonable return.

    Totally conflicted and messed up Habs fan.

Leave a Reply

