“GREAT HIRE BY MARC BERGEVIN”: SCOUT BOBBY KINSELLA JOINS HABS


Canadiens’ General Manager Marc Bergevin has dipped into the ranks of the USHL for his first front-office hiring.

Dubuque Fighting Saints’ General Manager Jim Montgomery confirmed to CJAD Sports that Bobby Kinsella, Saints’ assistant coach and director of scouting, is joining the Canadiens as a mid-west scout based out of Chicago.

The hiring was subsequently confirmed by the Canadiens.

Kinsella is in Montreal today for an orientation session.

“Great hire by Marc Bergevin,” said Montgomery. “Bobby’s got a great eye for talent and incredible work ethic. We’ve kind of known about it a little while before it was announced publicly.  I’m stressing now — how am I going to replace Bobby?”

Montgomery said Bergevin called him about two weeks ago, perhaps two days after Bergevin was hired. “Marc said he’d like to talk to Bobby Kinsella, and I said: Marc, go ahead.”

Kinsella spent five seasons with the Sioux CIty Musketeers of the USHL and recruited Max Pacioretty to play with Sioux City.

“Bobby has an eyee for talent,” said Montgomery.  “He’s gone to the highest level with a fantastic organization.”

LISTEN TO MY INTERVIEW WITH JIM MONTGOMERY:

http://www.cjad.com/Blog/HabsNews/blogentry.aspx?BlogEntryID=10386507

 
About ahefter

I have covered hockey extensively during my 30-year sports broadcasting career. From the Miracle on Ice at Lake Placid to the Edmonton Oiler dynasty years, I've shared my views on hockey with listeners in Montreal, Toronto and Vancouver. You can "catch me in action" on Youtube at the following URL: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1n5BdB9ngYw My radio stops include TSN 690 Montreal, CJAD Montreal, CKNW Vancouver, and CKEY Toronto. I also ran the Canadian Press sports desk (radio). My travels as a network reporter have taken me to four Olympics, most recently Vancouver 2010. I'm currently an Applied Assistant Professor within the School of Communication at the University of Hartford.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

