FRUSTRATION FOR GRIGORENKO AT HABS ‘ COMBINE


Mikhail Grigorenko of the Quebec Remparts never got a chance to take to the ice as the Canadiens held their one-day combine for draft prospects at the team’s practice facility, the Bell Sports Complex, at Brossard.

Grigorenko is coming off a bout with mononucleosis and did not get the medical green light to take to the ice today, which left him somewhat frustrated.

“Yeah, kind of,” he said as he emerged from the Habs’ practice facility.  “I would like to go on the ice just to show people how I skate.  I think they would like to see me.”

Grigorenko has already skated a few times and feels like he’s ready.

“I feel good now,” he added.

The 40-some draft prospects who gathered at Brossard today were divided into morning and afternoon groups in a day that featured dry-land and on-ice sessions under the watchful eye of Trevor Timmins, the Habs’ Director of Player Development.  General Manager Marc Bergevin also took in the proceedings, as did head coach Michel Therrien.

Grigorenko, who could factor into the Canadiens’ first-round plans when it comes time for them to make their selection (3rd overall) in Pittsburgh June 22nd, was among the first players to report at around 9 a.m., as was centre Alex Galchenyuk of the Sarnia Sting.

Galchenyuk managed to elude reporters after he completed his day.  In a text message to me, he said the combine “was good.”

Another top prospect, defenceman Mathew Dumba of the Red Deer Rebels, was among the players tested in the morning session.  Dumba met with the Canadiens at the end of the Western Hockey League season and at the recent NHL Combine in Toronto.

“My conversations with the Canadiens have been on and off,” said Dumba. “All of the teams are keeping their cards held pretty tight, not really opening up to anyone.  For me as a player I don’t know anything yet.”

Dumba admitted it would be “pretty cool” to play with defenceman P.K. Subban, should the Canadiens select him in the draft.

“He’s a great player. He plays with a lot of passion.  I like to do the same.  I like to have that fire in my game.”

The draft prospects will give way to the Canadiens’ prospects as the team hold a three-day development camp at Brossard, beginning tomorrow.

VIDEO CLIP OF ALEX GALCHENYUK ON THE ICE, INTERVIEWS, AND MORE AT:

http://www.cjad.com/Blog/HabsNews/blogentry.aspx?BlogEntryID=10392877

Grigorenko

Dumba
Galchenyuk
Trevor Timmins and Alex Mallet
About ahefter

I have covered hockey extensively during my 30-year sports broadcasting career. From the Miracle on Ice at Lake Placid to the Edmonton Oiler dynasty years, I've shared my views on hockey with listeners in Montreal, Toronto and Vancouver. You can "catch me in action" on Youtube at the following URL: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1n5BdB9ngYw My radio stops include TSN 690 Montreal, CJAD Montreal, CKNW Vancouver, and CKEY Toronto. I also ran the Canadian Press sports desk (radio). My travels as a network reporter have taken me to four Olympics, most recently Vancouver 2010. I'm currently an Applied Assistant Professor within the School of Communication at the University of Hartford.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

